Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 04/15/14

Nominees For 35th College Television Awards On April 23 Announced

Television Academy Foundation To Honor Outstanding Student Produced Entertainment Content at Star-Studded Awards Ceremony

April 15, 2014 --

LOS ANGELES, April 15, 2014 /PRNewswire/ --The Television Academy Foundation announced today the 52 nominees for the 35th College Television Awards, to be hosted on Wednesday, April 23 at the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre. The College Television Awards, presented by the Television Academy Foundation, recognizes excellence in the areas of video, digital and film production by undergraduate and graduate students from across the country. The program is one of several that will expand and benefit from the recently announced $20 million endowment campaign by the Television Academy. The 35th College Television Awards will be streamed live at

"Every year, College Television Awards nominees are carefully selected from a pool of incredible talent because their work has demonstrated exceptional creativity and storytelling," said Norma Provencio Pichardo, Executive Director of the Television Academy Foundation. "The Television Academy Foundation is proud to honor these rising stars and to offer them the chance to have their work recognized by industry leaders."

This year's ceremony sees industry support from celebrity attendees including Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele (Key & Peele), Max Greenfield (New Girl), Darby Stanchfield (Scandal), Nick Wechsler (Revenge) and Matt Bomer (White Collar), who, along with many other celebrities, will present awards. The College Television Awards honors student work in 13 categories including: Alternative, Animation, Children's, Comedy, Commercials, Documentary, Drama, Magazine, Music Composition, Music Use, Newscast and Series. The College Television Awards are comparable to Primetime Emmy Awards for students creating content for television, film and alternative platforms.

Four special awards will also be presented at this year's ceremony: the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship will be presented to a student whose work best provides insight into the unique experiences of those with a disability; four Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarships will be given to university graduate students pursuing careers in children's media; the Bricker Humanitarian Award will be awarded to the project that best exemplifies a humanitarian interest; and the SUBWAY FRESH ARTISTS AWARD will recognize the film that most creatively embodies the theme "In life, the best things are always made to order."

This year's nominees and winners represent schools nationwide including:

American Film Institute
American University
Art Center College of Design
Bates Technical College
Brigham Young University
Carnegie Mellon University
Champlain College
Chapman University
Elon University
Florida State University
Ithaca College
Montana State University
Oxnard Community College
Ringling College of Art and Design
Savannah College of Art and Design
School of Visual Arts
Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
University of California - Irvine
University of Pennsylvania
University of Southern California
Wake Forest University
Westminster College

Winners for each category will be available on Thursday, April 24.

The College Television Awards is among the many impactful education and preservation initiatives of the Television Academy Foundation, the charitable arm of the Television Academy. Additional details on the awards can be found at

About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as the Archive of American Television, College Television Awards and Student Internship Program the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please

For more information, please contact:
Alyssa King
Edelman PR
[email protected]

Laura Reeve
Edelman PR
[email protected]

SOURCE Television Academy Foundation

Copyright 2014 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved

Page: 1
Related Keywords:Animators, Broadcast, Digital, Camera/Film, Film Production, Broadcast Technology, Production/Post, Production, Film Production, Commercials, Film, Television, Music, Entertainment, Other,

Source:PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved

Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved

Digital Media Online, Inc.